CB&Q In Focus Volume 2 Clay County, Missouri

Hey, Welcome Back One And All to Legacies…On The Rails! Thanks for joining me for my 60th Post on the site since it began in 2014 as my 10th Anniversary Year for Legacies…On The Rails continues! My goal for 2023 is to have written at minimum my 100th Post here by year’s end.

As you well know by now, both my Paternal Grandfather John W Losh and his Brother Leonard Losh were both career men on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad.

(The Following is Credit: Wikipedia)

The Chicago, Burlington & Quincy was a Railroad that operated from 1849-1970 over 14 different states and had its headquarters in Chicago, Illinois. It was succeeded by the Burlington Northern Railroad that my Cousin George Hess (also a Pastor for 43 years that sadly passed in January) was a Mechanic for.

The CB&Q’s most famous trains were the sleek passenger trains known as the Burlington Zephyrs. They were also the first diesel-electric powered trains in the U.S. The first Zephyr made its inaugural Dawn To Dusk run from Denver, Colorado to Chicago, Illinois on May 26th, 1934. It was put into regular service on November 11th, 1934. There were 15 different Zephyr trains altogether. They were also the first trains to use dome coaches.

The Chicago, Burlington & Quincy also had 21 other named passenger trains. There are 28 still existing CB&Q Locomotives either on static display or in use in several different states. I have photographed one in St Louis, Missouri at the Museum of Transportation and two in St Joseph, Missouri. One in Patee Park and the other in the Patee House Museum. I’ve also photographed a few CB&Q coaches. All are included in past postings.

And while I really enjoy speaking of the good things about the CB&Q Railroad, I recently started volunteering at the Clay County, Missouri Archives in Liberty, Missouri. I discovered that they have numerous files on the railroads that have run through Clay County. Some have very little info, some have a lot. One is on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy.

This file’s primary piece of information was on a collision between two CB&Q passenger trains near Liberty, Missouri on January 15th, 1915. Not one of “The Q’s” best moments.

I’m going to include pics of the pages of the document for your viewing.

So, there you have it. It’s not pretty, but it was still nice to find the CB&Q file among those at the Clay County Archives.

Hope You enjoyed today’s feature.

As always, my hope and prayer more than anything else is that you are eternally aboard the most important train. The Gospel Train. That you are living daily in a relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ and enjoying the security of a forever home in Heaven.

Thanks for joining me today on Legacies…On The Rails, a Fulfill Your Ministry Production. I’ll see you next time.

Leave a comment