My Railroad Attire Volume 1

Welcome Back to Legacies…On The Rails! I know it’s been a while since my last post and unfortunately until the last month or two, Rail-Fanning opportunities for yours truly had been few and far between due to a lack of time.

But thanks to an unfortunate circumstance back in early June that took me to Willow Springs, Missouri for the first time since 2019 but a month earlier than normal (the Losh/Worley Family Reunion is the first weekend in July) for the funeral of the Matriarch of the family, and then the Reunion July 2nd I was able to “get back on track.” Yes, a pun is intended.

On my way down in June I missed my exit for 7 Hwy off 71 Hwy south of Kansas City and ended up going 15 miles further south to the next exit which took me past Appleton City, Missouri where I spotted a Missouri-Kansas-Texas caboose and a Depot building just across the street from a historic library. Appleton City became my 71st Rail-Fanning city since the Train Bug bit me in 2008.

According to Wikipedia Appleton City was originally called Arlington and the latter name was platted in 1870. It is presently named for D.S. Appleton (1824-1890) of the D. Appleton & Company who contributed a $500 Library to the City (likely the one right across the street from the Depot that is the 2nd oldest Library in Missouri.

The Depot is the remnant of the what began as the Tebo & Neosho Railroad that later merged with the Missouri-Kansas-Texas Division of the Missouri Pacific (one of the railroads I have a family connection to) and was the first MKT Depot in Clair County, Missouri.

But on to the actual subject of this Blog which is to begin showcasing my railroad shirts, ball caps, etc.

This T-Shirt shows the Southern Pacific #18 otherwise known as the “Slim Princess” that was built and delivered by Baldwin Locomotive Works in 1911. It is an oil-fired 4-6-0 “10 Wheeler” steam locomotive retired from revenue service in 1955.

It has been operated since by the Nevada-California-Oregon Railroad, then the Eastern California Museum and then leased in 2018, 2019 and 2021 by the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad https://www.durangotrain.com/ that opened in 1881 and currently operates 45.2 miles of excursion track between the cities of Durango and Silverton in Colorado.

Well, as always, I hope you’ve enjoyed this latest feature here on Legacies On The Rails (a Fulfill Your Ministry Production) but more importantly that you either know Jesus Christ as your personal Lord & Savior and are following Him faithfully each day or if you don’t, that you will take immediate advantage of receiving Him by Faith Alone…In Grace Alone…In Christ Alone today! And when it comes to trains and everything that is railroading, continue leaving Legacies…On The Rails!

And be sure to stay tuned for my next feature here on the blog!

Leave a comment