2022 Legacies Railfanning

Welcome back to Legacies…On The Rails! Thanks So Much for joining me!

I wanted to take this opportunity to cover the Rail-Fanning opportunities that 2022 brought as a way to start off the Blog for 2023.

By a few months into 2022, I really didn’t believe that I would have a lot to share in this post. But God, knowing my enjoyment of the hobby saw to it that I did.

First, I caught my 365th Legacies On The Rails Fan Video in a past Railfan City of Grandview, Missouri on 3/25/22.

2nd was my 366th Legacies On The Rails Fan Video (in the hunt for 400 since 2008) in a past Railfan City of Parkville, Missouri on 5/21/22.

Third, the Matriarch of the Losh Family unfortunately passed in Willow Springs, Missouri in June so as I was making my way down to my Hotel the Super 8 By Wyndham (which has become my regular choice when I go down) in West Plains, Missouri.

I missed my exit for 7 Highway off US 71 South and the next exit was 15 miles further south but it disappoint as it took me past Appleton City, Missouri which became my 71st Railfan City over 10 states (in the hunt for 100 cities since 2008 and my 367th Legacies On The Rails Fan Video) because I spotted a Depot and a Missouri-Kansas-Texas Caboose so of course, I stopped for pics and a video. As one of my train t-shirts says “I Don’t Always Stop And Look At Trains….Oh, Wait…Yes, I Do!”

Fourth up was the trip over the Independence Day weekend back to Willow Springs, Missouri (again staying at the Super 8 By Wyndham in West Plains 30 minutes north of Willow Springs) where I caught a BNSF/NS Double Stack train parked for over 24 hours (likely do to the recent nationwide rash of crew shortages) westbound at North Diggins, Missouri, another past Railfan City.

I worked from July 5th until Halloween in an underground cold storage cave Smart Warehousing http://www.smartwarehousing.com in Independence, Missouri and there are several times throughout the year that product is brought into or transported from their facility via railcars so a few are always sitting on a siding across the street. So I caught these from Southern Illinois Railcar Industries and Union Pacific.

I also passed by a couple of past Railfan spots on the way to and from Smart Warehousing (and when I worked as Sales Manager for http://www.tronicspay.com from the beginning of February until the end of June before that) which were Shoal Creek, Missouri and the Hunt Midwest Subtropolis in Kansas City, Missouri.

So, when I’d see something sitting there and was in the mood (yes, you read right: sad to have to admit: Me, “MR Legacies On The Rails” some days was either just ready to go home and rest or with the price of fuel of late, did not want to drive anywhere out of my way to do any Railfanning) would stop for some pics or video. But trips out of town with Family or solo were a big help.

The First four are from Sugar Creek, Missouri are from Sugar Creek, Missouri and the Last Four are from the tracks near the Hunt Midwest Subtropolis in Kansas City, Missouri.

Next up was Altoona, Iowa becoming my 72nd Railfan City as my family visited the Adventureland Amusement Park on 7/23/22 and I got pics and video of the Train that takes visitors around the park. I tried to look up history of it but couldn’t really find any.

The next day on 7/24/22 we visited the Merle Hey Mall in a previous Railfan City Des Moines, Iowa where we came across the Central Iowa Garden Railway Club and I took pics and my 369th through 371st Legacies On The Rails Fan Videos.

My 73rd, 74th and 75th Railfan Cities were Claremore on 9/3/22, then Tulsa and Bartlesville, Oklahoma on 9/5/22. I’ll just share the videos from those.

That concludes my Railfan Journey for 2022. This Blog took me a couple days to complete but I’m happy to have shared it with You!

Thanks So Much for joining me today! I hope as always that you know and are following the Lord Jesus Christ as your Personal Lord and Savior but if you do not know Him that you will receive Him by Faith today. His Word proves He loves you and wants a relationship with you. John 3:16, 27. Romans 10:9, 10. Revelation 3:20.

And when it comes to trains and everything that is Railroading, Continue Leaving Legacies…On The Rails! I’ll see you next time!

Legacies…On The Rails is a Fulfill Your Ministry Production.

Leave a comment