The Great Canadian Train Ride Video Review

Hey, Welcome Back to one and all to Legacies…On The Rails! Thanks for joining me again today! I sincerely appreciate all those who read and follow the blog!

As you have no doubt seen by now, I try to bring a lot of diversity to what I post about. Visiting and documenting Rail Museums to static displays of steam locomotives, cabooses, freight cars and passenger coaches. Visiting model railroad layouts. Riding and documenting excursion trains.

Filming live trains in action, including those memorable moments when a steam locomotive like those of Union Pacific have been lovingly brought back to life and they are sent on nationwide tours for all railfans and our families to enjoy.

Another aspect is reviewing commercially produced Railroad Videos, originally on VHS and/or DVD and sharing those that can be found on You Tube with you.

And today’s Special Feature is from the archives of the Doug Jones Travelogs: The Great Canadian Train Ride. Produced in 1993 by Publishers Choice Video (the VHS is one recently given to me by my friend Jeanette Gardner-Littleton. My collection has very few newer videos. Most are classics either given to me by Jeanette, bought in yard or garage sales, thrift or antique stores.

The Great Canadian Train Ride features just over an hour and twenty minutes of the passenger train known as The Canadian. You can definitely tell the film wasn’t produced anytime recently as it’s definitely not in HD or Super HD but I say that in a positive sense as it maintains its classic era quality.

The Canadian took to the rails transporting passengers on a wonderfully scenic journey 2775 miles across Canada from Union Station in Toronto to Central Station in Vancouver, British Columbia. It included two locomotives, standard passenger coaches, as well as dome cars, including one with a bullet shaped lounge.

Later, Via Rail took on the task of refurbishing The Canadian and putting its motive power in the lead.

The You Tube version is divided up into a just over 5 minute preview and a full length version. Others who in modern day have experienced The Canadian have made their own documentaries that I will share a couple of so you can enjoy their work as well.

I hope you get to watch all this material and enjoy them as much as I do!

I also hope that a personal relationship with Jesus Christ continues to be front and center in your life each day and if you have not yet received Him by Faith Alone, I want to invite you to do that today! He loves you enough that he died and rose again for you!

And when it comes to Trains and everything that is Railroading, Continue Leaving Legacies…On The Rails! I’ll see you next time!

Legacies…On The Rails is a Fulfill Your Ministry Production.

Leave a comment